Imperial Dunes Sunset – California

Imperial Dunes Sunset - California

Imperial Dunes Sunset – California

~ view larger ~

Driving along Hwy. 78, a two lane road through the desert on my way back to Los Angeles I saw sand dunes in the distance. When I reached a road going in to the south up a steep hill, I took it. I pulled over at the top, grabbed my camera bag and began walking through the dunes until I found some situated west of me that intrigued my eye. The tripod was set, camera with quick release securely attached, and I looked through the viewfinder to find where I wanted to put four corners around the sinuous lines of these luxuriously formed dunes. According to my iPhone there were two hours until sunset so I flopped in the warm sand on my back to temper the chill of the gusty February air. As the sun began slipping behind the dunes, I again looked through the viewfinder thinking the scene was absolutely perfect. That’s when a woman began walking into my frame along the ridgeline from left to right stopping just shy of the peak of the highest dune and faced west for perfect composition. Now the scene was perfect!!!…and I am eternally grateful for her holding her pose until the colors reached maximum saturation.

Copyright 2017, O. Bisogno Scotti, All Rights Reserved

Nikon D810 DSLR AF Nikkor 24mm f/2.8D, exposure:  f/6.3, 1/6 sec., ISO 64,  exposure program: Aperture Priority, shutter: M-up mode, Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote, Manfrotto 3221 tripod with Manfrotto 3047 studio head, capture date and time: 2/08/2017, 6:48 pm, post processing: HDR 32-bit image file.

4 thoughts on “Imperial Dunes Sunset – California

  1. Sometimes words are hard to find to say just how an image makes you feel. That sunset brought tears to my eyes and took my breath away because it is so spectacular. It is off the chart”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

