Arch at El Matador

Arch at El Matador

Arch at El Matador

~ view larger ~

I have had a mind’s eye view of this image since December, 2012, the last time I was at El Matador State Beach in Malibu, CA. I envisioned it as a monochrome with etherial waves floating as if passing through the rocks along the shore, and opacus clouds tracing the sky. I was unable to make the capture that day because it started to rain, my Nikon was getting wet, and I already had one nice image on my CF card. Four years later my vision has finally come to fruition. Hope you like it.

Copyright 2016, O. Bisogno Scotti, All Rights Reserved

You may also like El Matador

Nikon D810 DSLR,  AF Nikkor 24mm f/2.8D, Hoya ND400 9-stop neutral density filter, exposure: f/16, 37.0 sec., ISO 64, exposure program: Manual, shutter: M-up mode, Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote,  Manfrotto 3221 tripod with Manfrotto 3047 studio head, Simple DoF Calculator, Longtime exposure calculatoriPhone 6+, capture date and time: 8/26/2016, 7:51 am. 

20 thoughts on “Arch at El Matador

    • I can see why this would be your favourite beach. It has such interesting rocks, light, moods.

      Monochrome gives such interesting highlights and colour to things like rocks, it brings out the story that tides, weather and time has etched into it.

      Crevices and lines stand out like roadmaps scoring the surface with details of wear and tear on the sides of this rather large rock.

      A life giving rock, with the abundance of vegetation growing on it.

      I like the small arch and I would want to crawl through it…… just because it is there.

      I like the moodiness of the water it give the impression of being gentle, soft, serene, as it gently laps at the rock’s edge.
      There appears to be fog riding low on the surface of the water which shares in the opaqueness in the water reflecting the muted sky .

      The clouds seemingly are on one side matted together, thick and dark, but suddenly to the other side the clouds have shattered in the likeness of shafts of sunlight casting streaks of muted light because it has bounced off the massive side of the rock.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for commenting. I understand what you are saying about the colors within a monochrome. In fact, I have a famous photographer quote about that subject that I haven’t used yet on Blog-Bisogno. The surreality of sky and water is due to long exposure which turns the image into a dream state.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

