California Coastal Live Oak Bark 1

Coastal Live Oak Bark

California Coastal Live Oak Bark 1

~ view larger ~

This is a photograph of coastal live oak bark taken in Cheeseboro Canyon, Old Agoura, California.

Copyright 2016, O. Bisogno Scotti, All Rights Reserved

Nikon D810 DSLR  Nikon AS-F Nikkor 85mm f/1.8G lens, exposure:  f/6.3, 1/13 sec., ISO 64,  exposure program: Aperture Priority, shutter: M-up mode, Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote, Manfrotto 3221 tripod with Manfrotto 3047 studio headdepth of field measurement: Simple DoF Calculator app.iPhone 6 +, capture date and time: 3/27/2016, 12:43 pm, post processing: Photoshop CC 2015, Adobe HDR Pro 32-bit, Adobe Camera RAW, Adobe Bridge.

17 thoughts on “California Coastal Live Oak Bark 1

  1. earlharrisphotography.com: Thanks for visiting Blog-Bisogno.com, and liking my image ”California Coastal Live Oak Bark 1”. Although I’m completely digital these days, I can’t seem to get rid of my film cameras. I still have almost every one I have ever owned.

    Like

  2. Andrea Giang | Cooking with a Wallflower: Thanks for liking ”California Coastal Live Oak Bark 1”. At the end of my morning hike and back at the trailhead, I sat at a picnic table to eat lunch and ended up staring at the trunk of a live oak tree on the other side of the table. Obviously it did not escape my lens…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. marcus dilano: Thanks for liking ”California Coastal Live Oak Bark 1”. The thick, rough bark of the live oak belies its hardscrabble existance fighting off the wild fires and drought of Southern California.

    Like

  4. As someone who is in love with Macro work, I must say that this capture is absolutely AMAZING! The detail, the texture, the depth of field and color are phenomenal! I am truly amazed and delighted! I see you’ve made this capture with the new Nikkor 85mm Micro lens. A fantastic lens which has now moved to the top of my new acquisition list. You have honored this lens well. Some might think I’m crazy, but I find this to be a very exciting image! The tree bark looks like actual bark rather than an image of bark. It’s so tactile. I want to touch it and feel it as much as I would want to touch and feel the actual tree it covers, as if I were standing before it. This looks like film! It is stunning! Excellent work, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lezlie! As they used to say back in the day, It’s all about the glass. The camera is just a box that holds film. Let me clear up a few interesting points about the “glass” used for this image. I have a Nikon AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED which is my macro lens. I had it with me, but it stayed in my backpack. I didn’t really need it because the trunk of this live oak tree is huge. Instead I used a Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G Lens that I am testing for 30 days. At 85mm, it is considered a short telephoto and the minimum focus distance is 2.6 ft. and it is one of Nikon’s sharpest lenses. This lens was plenty for isolating the bark in this image. It look like film because of the camera (36.3 MP Nikon D810) the next best thing to medium format transparency film.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

