Annuli and Sphere

Annuli and Sphere

Annuli and Sphere

 – view larger –

A walk through the backyard can become wickedly surreal if you fixate on a small scene, as I tend to do. I call it mind-cropping when everything else goes black forming borders, leaving only what is essential in the frame. On September 19, 2015, I mind-cropped my way into an uneasy trapezoidal world of annuli, spheres and concentricity. Blooms fallen to the cool concrete became the beautiful undead, and the sun goddess danced libidinally for my pleasure.

Copyright 2016, O. Bisogno Scotti, All Rights Reserved

iPhone 6, Adobe Bridge CC, Adobe Camera RAW, Adobe Photoshop CC 2015, PhotoKit Sharpener 

21 thoughts on “Annuli and Sphere

    • Nature’s Child: I’m glad you liked “Annuli and Sphere”. Nature is always self-evident in my work through color and texture, even if the concept of an image lies somewhere else. I remain steadfastly committed to the natural world.

      This particular image is about forms in juxtaposition creating disinhibition as we go merrily on, living our daily lives completely oblivious to these forces.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I like what you have to say about how this image came to you….I really like your concept of mind~cropping. I do that only I’ve never had a name for it before now. The other day when I went up to the snow, this is how it was for me up there. All I saw were the images within the landscape. One led me to the next , which led me to the next , which led me to the next…It took everything I had to keep from climbing up on those boulders with this cast on my leg. And you did this with an iphone…You’re too much, Bisogno!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lezlie: Someone had to name it! Mind-cropping is not in the Merriam-Webster dictionary yet, and I’m a little peeved about that. On the other hand, I suppose we already have enough hyphenated words in the English language. Anyway, mind-cropping is a strange mental phenomenon where everything goes black except the scene you have envisioned. If you develop this mental ability, you no longer have to form a rectangle with your hands and put it up to your eyes to isolate the scene…which I always thought was a bit ostentatious. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • My Gosh is that what it is called? Mind-cropping!!!!!!
        Whenever I am looking at something in nature I see it as though I already have my camera in front of me. Now I have a name for what I do! Thank You!

        Liked by 2 people

      • I’ve never done the making a rectangle with the hands business. I always thought that was an old Hollywood film making joke. I’ve always cropped through the lens. I get your concept of mind~cropping well. For me, everything around the “envisioned scene” doesn’t go black it just goes softly out of focus into a big blur leaving the shot I want to make free and clear…I rarely even use the lens to frame a scene anymore. My eye is better trained than any other part of me. I’m in serious trouble……..

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

