Old Chinatown – Central Plaza 1

Old Chinatown, Central Plaza

Old Chinatown-Central Plaza 1, Los Angeles, California, USA

– view larger –

The cloudy skies of June in Los Angeles are known as June Gloom, and this year it continued to the end of July and into August. I checked the Weather Channel extended forecast and it looked like Sunday, Aug. 2 was the last cloudy day. After that, It would be blank, lifeless skies until November. Since I had been cooped up in my studio for months, I was out the door early Sunday looking for an interesting sky as a backdrop. I had three locations in mind, but the image above isn’t one of them. This happens to me a lot. I go out for one thing and come back with something completely different (Artist Attention Deficit Disorder). I knew it was a lucky day when I was able to Doris Day park directly in front of Central Plaza in Chinatown. I get out of the car and there’s this building I’ve seen a million times before, 951 N Broadway, but today for some reason I am really seeing it; the funky tile roof, the 1930s Chinese architecture, the row of pomegranate trees bearing fruit growing down the courtyard side, and yes, a beautiful cloudy sky as the background.  I’m in love with the scene. I am in love with life. I even feel love for the guy trying to syphon gas out of my 2003 Xterra as I make the capture!

you may also like Old Chinatown – Central Plaza 2

Copyright 2015, O. Bisogno Scotti, All Rights Reserved

32-bit HDR image consisting of 3 bracketed frames merged into one High Dynamic Range image file in Photoshop CC 2015. The 1st bracketed frame was exposed according to the in-camera meter at f5.6, 1/640 sec., ISO 100. The 2nd bracketed frame had an exposure index of -1.67 EV. The 3rd bracketed frame had an exposure index of +1.67 EV. Nikon D810 DSLR, AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, exposure program: Aperture Priority, shutter: M-up mode, Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote, Manfrotto 3221 tripod with Manfrotto 3047 studio headdepth of field measurement: Simple DoF Calculator app.iPhone 6 +, capture date and time: 8/02/2015, 9:14 am.

18 thoughts on “Old Chinatown – Central Plaza 1

  1. Andrea Giang | Cooking with a Wallflower: At exactly 12:18 am Los Angeles time, I received 5 likes, but your lovely Avatar Andrea showed up on my blog first so I assume you were the first to like my image “Old Chinatown – Central Plaza 1” and I thank you for that !

    Like

  2. Nature’s Child: Thanks for liking my image “Old Chinatown – Central Plaza 1″. One thing that I have learned; if you see something in Downtown Los Angeles you wish to capture, don’t procrastinate. It may not be there tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i love the intricate brick work on the side of the building, the Lotus flower in the tile is lovely, while the tile work itself is so charming, the talent that went into designing this building is indeed a dying art!

    I am pleased to read that you are dedicating yourself to preserving these beautiful old buildings!

    Did you notice that the wooden decorations above the tile are positioned differently as well as the one on the other side of the building, than all of the rest on the building?

    Even the window decorations are intricately eye catching!

    The first thing my eye was drawn to was the shadow of the tree on the building and how artful and intricate it was, to me that alone is ART!!!!
    If you had captured just the shadow and the tree I would have fallen in love with this image!

    Like

    • Craftsmen like ones who built out this design no longer exist. Even if they were still around, it would be too costly.

      The beauty of the design is that it’s asymmetrical. If you look closely, (which you did) the tile patterns are random, and the design elements in the roof are not exactly alike.

      I do what I can to keep these old buildings in the forefront of peoples minds. They must be preserved.

      Yes, it was the shadow that pulled me in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

