Clouds on Mountain

Cloud on MountainClouds on Mountain

– view larger –

I wasn’t a photographer by profession when I made this capture so I hadn’t invested heavily in photographic equipment yet. I had the bare essentials so I was relying on the reflective meter in my film camera (no digital at this time) which sees the world as zone 5 (18% gray). What it does is measure the light reflected off the subject. This works in some lighting circumstances but in others it can be 2-3 stops off, not good when you are shooting Kodachrome transparency film which had a leeway for error of ⅓, maybe ⅔ of a stop. What you do is make a guess at the exposure based on prior experience under the same lighting conditions. This scene had me worried and I was wishing I had a handheld incident light meter which measures the light falling on the subject, a far more accurate way of doing things. There was another photographer with an 8×10 view camera set up about 40 yards away. Since a large format camera has no in-camera meter, an incident meter is a must and there it was in his left hand. I figured why not ask him what his light reading was? The answer cheerful given was f/11, 1.5 sec., and that’s what I used for “Cloud on Mountain”.

You may also enjoy Korean Sunset

Copyright 2015, O. Bisogno Scotti, All Rights Reserved

Nikon N6006 SLR AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8Dexposure: not recorded, M-up mode, film: Kodak Kodachrome 64 Professional color transparency film, Manfrotto 3221 with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head,  Nikon MC-20 remote cable,  Plustek OpticFilm 7600i Ai, 35 mm film scanner, LaserSoft Imaging SilverFast 8 scanner software

22 thoughts on “Clouds on Mountain

    • tefltravelling: 고맙습니다 for visiting Blog-Bisogno.com, and for commenting on my image “Clouds on Mountain”. I’m glad you liked it. Search Korea on this blog and you will find many more images captured on my six-week circumnavigation of the South Korean peninsula. Enjoy learning Korean while you are there. I did!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Busidh: My sentiments exactly as I stood there seeing the mountain shrouded in etherial clouds…and you summed it up in one word! It makes it all worthwhile when an image touches someone, somewhere on this planet. I’m glad you liked it. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s a pleasure. I’m a sucker for images, especially ones of nature. I am not quite a professional photographer but I am a “moment capturer” myself. Keep up the inspiring snapping 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • It is good that you are not a professional photographer. It is not a good time to be a professional. Do exactly what your are doing, and that is following your heart. There is something there worth exploring. I can feel it.

        I will continue until my last breath.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Leanne Cole: I’m glad you liked my image “Clouds on Mountain”. As a photographer you know what we do to get these images; getting up before dawn, standing in the cold, the 100% humidity saturating our clothing…and smiling for the rest of the day knowing what is on our roll of film or CF card.

    Like

Leave a Reply

