Thorny Perch

Thorny Perch, Arizona

Thorny Perch

– view larger –

While hiking in the Sonoran Desert in Arizona, I came across this interesting ocotillo against a deep blue sky. Jutting straight-out of the left frame as I looked in my viewfinder, it was a healthy plant, but where it takes a turn skyward it becomes skeletonized for a few feet. Then dipping down towards the ground, it miraculously comes back to life with a few vestiges of flowers and seed pods still clinging to the branch. I put my camera on the tripod and composed but as cool as this ocotillo was, it wasn’t enough. It needed a little something else. A focal point. Enter the inquisitive hummingbird who lands on the center of the branch, not perfectly center, but a little left of center for perfect composition (obviously he’s had artistic training). If that isn’t enough, the little guy gives me his best side and 3-5 seconds to trip the shutter. For a hummingbird to stay still for 3-5 seconds is like a human posing for 3-5 years. What a sacrifice in the name of art!

Copyright 2015, O. Bisogno Scotti, All Rights Reserved

Nikon N90S SLRNikkor AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f-2.8D ED, Nikon SB-24 SpeedlightKodachrome 64 Professional color transparency film, B+W 77E Slim Circular Polarizer, exposure not recorded, Manfrotto 3265 tripod, Manfrotto 3047 studio head, Plustek OpticFilm 7600i Ai film scanner, LaserSoft Imaging SilverFast 8 scanner software.

16 thoughts on “Thorny Perch

  1. Violet of Violet’s Veg*n e-comics: Thanks for liking “Thorny Perch”. When you walk fast on the desert, you see nothing. If you stop a while remaining motionless, everything you thought was’t there comes out to greet you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nature’s Child. Thanks for liking “Thorny Perch”.
    When it comes to the natural world, I do seem to have a telegnosis with Mother Nature. It was as if I knew an inquisitive hummingbird would come along and sit in just the right spot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gregjoder: Thanks for liking “Thorny Perch”. I fell in love with the Sonoran Desert on my first trip to Arizona in 1968. I have been coming back ever since. This image was captured in 1995 on Kodachrome 64.

    Like

  4. Man of many thoughts: Thanks for liking my image “Thorny Perch” captured hiking in the Sonoran Desert in early June before it got too hot. I’d say it was about 95-98 degrees. I was carrying my usual two liters of water.

    Like

Leave a Reply

