Seoraksan Mountain Pass

Seoraksan Mountain Pass, Korea

Seoraksan  Mountain Pass, Republic of Korea

– view larger –

The hike up Seoraksan Mountain 설악산 (5,604′) in Seoraksan National Park, S. Korea takes a full day if you have photography in mind. It is a relatively civilized hike. There are no death-defying leaps from bolder to bolder over raging mountain streams required as can be seen by the footbridge in the above photo. I would say the greatest danger would be imbibing too much of the fermented rice drink served in small bowls at the peak. The taste is sweet and it looks like milk. To the palate, there is no indication of its alcoholic punch. Hint: hold on to the guard rails on the way down.

You may also enjoy Seoraksan 003

Copyright 2015 O. Bisogno Scotti,  All Rights Reserved

Nikon N6006 SLR AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, exposure: not recorded, M-up mode, film: Kodak Kodachrome 64 Professional color transparency film, Manfrotto 3221 with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head,  Nikon MC-20 remote cable,  Plustek OpticFilm 7600i Ai, 35 mm film scanner, LaserSoft Imaging SilverFast 8 scanner software

25 thoughts on “Seoraksan Mountain Pass

  1. Taylor Vincent: I captured “Seoraksan Mountain Pass” quickly…just enough time to feel it. If you wait too long, you will begin to think about what your are doing and that could ruin everything. Thanks for liking it.

    Like

    • I hope you do Alok. Due to its proximity to the city of Seoul and Incheon International Airport, it is quite easy to get Seoraksan National Park on a good highway and the nearby hotels are nice. I chose the long way leaving Seoul on a circumnavigation of the South Korean peninsula, Seoraksan being the final stop on my journey before returning to Seoul.

      Thanks for liking my image “Seoraksan Mountain Pass”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Violet of Violet’s Veg*n e-comics: I spent several days in a hotel waiting for the fog to lift enough to see Seoraksan Mountain so I guess you could say this capture was three days in the making. Thanks for liking it.

    Like

  3. marcus dilano: There is a cable car that can get you to the top of this mountain in 15 minutes, but look what would have been missed !!!
    Thanks for liking my image “Seoraksan Mountain Pass”.

    Like

    • It was heavenly, especially since there was a Buddhist temple situated in a cave on the mountaintop. The fermented rice drink (Mak-geolli) was yummy and really packed a wallop at that altitude. All I can tell you is no photos were taken on the way down. 😉
      I’m glad you liked “Seoraksan Mountain Pass”.

      Like

  4. I have been looking at this post and I found myself feeling dizzy and my heartrate escalated and I am sitting down… how did this happen?
    Now that is an awesome feat! No wonder you are a Photography Master!

    Liked by 1 person

    • See a physician immediately…just kidding 🙂 I’m glad you were affected by the image.
      When crossing the footbridge, I looked up at the precipice above and could envision exactly how my photograph would look from up there…even the composition. Today you would put a GoPro camera on a drone to make a shot like that, but then where is the passion? Where is the human element?
      I don’t think about photography in that way…about being a master of photography. That’s all I will say for now as there is an upcoming artist quote on this subject scheduled to be posted on Blog-Bisogno.com.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Man of many thoughts: Thanks for liking “Seoraksan Mountain Pass”.
    There are some mountains just north of Los Angeles that are similar in shape to the mountains of Korea. For this reason, the TV show “Mash” was filmed there. They left one WWll ambulance on a mountaintop to mark the spot.

    Like

  6. M. Talmage Moorehead: Thanks for liking “Seoraksan Mountain Pass”. Everything resonated with me in Korea, the landscape, the people, the culture, the food. It all came together in perfect harmony and fed my art. Sure, the rain destroyed one Nikon, but I had another. Everything was copacetic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

