Calabasa Curiosa

Calabasa Curiosa

Calabasa Curiosa

– view larger –

I found this curious calabasa (Spanish for pumpkin) by happenstance on a hike in Las Virgenes Canyon Open Space, and as legend has it the town of Calabasas, California was named after the small, wild pumpkins that grew on the hillsides there. They are only about 2″- 4″ in height, but the Chumash Native Americans in the area made use of them as a food source…even though they were not  too impressive on Halloween. I picked up one of these curious pumpkins and stuck it in my pocket. When I got back to my loft in Downtown Los Angeles, I was amazed it wasn’t broken since the inside was hollow from baking in the Southern California sun and the outer skin was as thin and fragile as an eggshell. So I stuck it in a box for a year. A few weeks ago, I opened the box and to my amazement, it still wasn’t broken.  I took this as a sign that it must be captured now, or it never will be.

Copyright 2014 O. Bisogno Scotti,  All Rights Reserved

Nikon D810 DSLR, AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 G IF-EDVello BG-N7Battery Grip, Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote, Sekonic L-508 Zoom Master light meter, Elinchrom EL-500 monoblock strobe lights (2), Elinchrom 27″ softbox, Elinchrom 10 degree grid, Savage seamless back drop (bone color), Manfrotto 3221 tripod with Manfrotto 3047 studio head, Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate, Simple DoF Calculator, iPhone 4S.

Capture Date and Time: 12/11/2014, 4:51 pm

exposure: f/25, 1/60 sec. (Electronic Front Curtain  Shutter), ISO 100, Flash sync speed: 1/60 sec.,

Post Processing: Nikon RAW-NEF 36 MP 14-bit file/Adobe Bridge/ Camera RAW/Photoshop CC 2014

21 thoughts on “Calabasa Curiosa

  1. Hi Andrea. I decided to take this calabasa, but three inches tall including the stem, out of its element. By making the capture in my studio, I was able to make it look iconic, shrouding it in gray clouds of mystery. I’m glad you liked it.

    Like

  2. Hi Leanne. I finally have macro capability once again. Calabasa Curiosa is my first effort with the AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 G IF-ED. It’s quite a lens. When I added lens correction in post processing, I could see no visible change…meaning it didn’t need any. All my other lenses have noticeable vignetting, distortion, and chromatic aberration which gets fixed in Adobe Camera RAW. No lens is perfect, but this one comes pretty close.

    Thanks for liking my image.

    Like

      • Natures Child: I know that you are referring to the finality of the print in the art of photography, and the answer is; not yet. I need to begin the process. Thank you for your inquiry. I will let you know when it is hanging on the wall at fotografia-LA.

        Best,
        Bisogno

        Liked by 1 person

  3. “Lezlie Sokol” Painted Cloud Gallery. Thanks for liking my curious pumpkin floating in clouds of the past.
    This is the first art photo taken with my new Nikon D810, and AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 G IF-ED.
    As a footnote, no illegal substances were take before this capture. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • The capture was made in my studio in Downtown Los Angeles. I placed the calabasa on a product shot table with a gray seamless paper background, and propped it up with some of my granddaughter’s Play Doh to keep it in place. Two strobes were used, one with a 27″ soft box and the other with a grid. The clouds were concocted in Photoshop CC. There’s a full equipment list under the photo. Is this what you meant by after the capture?

        Liked by 1 person

  4. No, but I like the information you’ve given. I was actually referring to your previous comment ~ “As a footnote, no illegal substances were taken before this capture.” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

