Chinatown Junk

Chinatown JunkChinatown Junk – Chinatown, Los Angeles, California, USA

I saw this junk pile on a side street in Chinatown a few weeks before I made this capture. To me, it looked more like an art installation than a junk heap. The 3 wheel cart on the left also intrigued me. Many details indicate that it is a 1940s Cushman Mailster but I cannot confirm this because I couldn’t find a photo of it online. Doesn’t matter though. The cart is placed perfectly. I returned in early morning on 8/02/2014 and it all came together. If you want to see this scene, do it now. It won’t be around for very long in ever-changing Downtown Los Angeles.

– view larger –

Copyright 2014 O. Bisogno Scotti,  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D, exposure: f/11.0, 1/250 sec., ISO 200, exposure program: Aperture Priority, focus mode: manual, M-up mode,  Manfrotto 3221 tripod with Manfrotto 3047 studio head,  Nikon MC-20 remote cable release, capture: 14-bit RAW-NEF, white balance: Auto, b&w conversion: Photoshop CS6, capture date and time: 8/02/2014, 7:49 am

12 thoughts on “Chinatown Junk

  1. I love this image, the metal looks like an abstract art sculpture! Thanks for it also being in B&W it has sharp, crisp, clean lines!

    Like

    • signorinamelrice. Thank you so much for the complement! I see most things and people on planet earth as beautiful…or maybe it is that my heart has the ability to shield itself from all things unpalatable such as violence, greed, lack of tolerance, etc. Yes, I keep informed, but I made the decision in the beginning of my career to show only the beauty in my art…no matter how strange that beauty might be.

      (you left two letters off my name so I took the liberty of correcting it for you.) 🙂

      Like

      • You’re a rare person, Scotti. You know, in our world today, people have the worldly definition of beauty. But you, you get the real understanding of it. And your heart, it’s so good to have such a great ability to shield you from all those unpalatable things. 🙂

        I can tell that you’re a great and kind-hearted person, Scotti.
        How wonderful it would be for such trait of yours to be contagious. 😀

        Have a blissful day ahead. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

