Pink Dress

Pink DressPink Dress

This allegorical image was a gift. I happened by an open door, a portal to the darkness within. Then, a window and beyond a pink dress hanging on a clothesline. I print “Pink Dress” with copious white space around it forming the first frame for the eye to enter. Next is the image frame, the door frame, and the window frame heightening the voyeurism. Finally the eye finds the sensual pink dress.

view larger

Copyright 2014 O. Bisogno Scotti,  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon N6006 SLR AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, filter: exposure: not recorded, M-up mode, film: Kodak Kodachrome 64 Professional color transparency film, Manfrotto 3221 with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head,  Nikon MC-20 remote cable,  Plustek OpticFilm 7600i Ai, 35 mm film scanner, LaserSoft Imaging SilverFast 8 scanner software

9 thoughts on “Pink Dress

    • Thank you naughtyscarlett. I’m glad you like it. When writing is not your forte, you look for the best tool to communicate a story. I use a camera.

      About the frames game: On one of my father’s yearly visits to Los Angeles, I showed him an 8×10 print of “Pink Dress” framed within a very large white matte. Since he was a painter and photographer, I was always looking for his opinion of my work. He said, “I don’t get it.” I asked him what he didn’t get and he said, “I don’t get the huge white matte.” I tried to explain my intentions and he just shrugged his shoulders. A few days later, I took him to the Getty Center, and by chance there was a Brassai exhibition of his “Paris by Night” voyeuristic photographs. Each image was framed within a very large white matte. My father spent a lot of time scrutinizing each individual photograph. When he got to the end, I was there waiting for him. He looked at me and said, “I get it now.” How sweet vindication can be. I had finally taught my teacher something.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. sukiyama02. Of my voyeuristic photographs, I like this one the best…but that doesn’t have any meaning because I am the artist, not the viewer. It is the viewer that counts. That is why I am so glad you like this image.

    Like

  2. It’s a fascinating image. Such an primitive structure in which to find a pink dress…a color not usual in such an environment. I like the way that dress draws the viewer in. Yes, voyeuristic is a good word to describe what’s happening here. Where is this location?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Lezlie. I love to fascinate.

      The pink dress: When I saw the dress framed by the front and back doors of this primitive abode, a teenage girl was hanging it out to dry. Instinctively I knew I only wanted the dress as the subject. The girl, as beautiful as she was, cluttered the frame. The dress alone would say it all! As I set up camera and tripod I smiled at her and she ran for the safety of the dark interior. Perfect!

      Although I can remember every nuance of every capture I have ever made, locations tend to drift away; somewhere in the southern part of the S. Korean peninsula.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

