Carolina Waterwheel

Carolina WaterwheelCarolina Waterwheel – North Carolina, USA

While crossing an old stone bridge, I caught sight of this Carolina waterwheel tucked away in the woods. My father and I got out of the car and I set up my tripod and camera, composed, and took a quick light reading. As was customary, I then stepped aside so my father could look through the viewfinder. I received the nod of approval from the master so I closed the viewfinder curtain and tripped the shutter.

Copyright 2013 O. Bisogno Scotti,  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon N90S SLR, AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D, filter: Nikon L37C, Kodachrome 64 Professional color transparency film, exposure not recorded, Seconic L-508 Zoom Master, M-up Mode,   Plustek OpticFilm 7600i Ai film scanner, LaserSoft Imaging SilverFast 8 scanner software, Manfrotto 3221 with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head,   Nikon MC-20 remote cable.

7 thoughts on “Carolina Waterwheel

  1. This is another beautiful entry in the creative eye of a photographer who understands composition and lighting. The capture of this image shows how Scotti’s creative mind is able to see texture, color and emotion in his work..

    Like

    • I have returned to this image before but now I need to say what this image is saying to me.

      I love that your border stands out yet is not overpowering.
      It draws the eye to the waterwheel.
      From there it travels to the small creek and I wonder how this big waterwheel ended up beside a tiny creek?
      It would appear that it may be early Autumn since a few leaves are starting to turn colours.
      There is a lot to see if you take the time to really look.

      Like

      • You have returned to an image that is very important to me since my father was at my side for the capture. He knew transparency film well, and at this point I had command of it as well. It’s all there, the deep blacks, the saturated yet realistic colors and the sharpness. I believe you are right about it being early autumn. Thanks for taking the time to let your eyes run free.

        Like

Leave a Reply

