Before and After 1994

Before and AfterBefore and After – fotografia-LA, Studio City, California, USA

Copyright 2013 O. Bisogno Scotti,  All Rights Reserved.

I started fotografia-LA in 1994 in the perfect location for a photography studio on Ventura Blvd. Studio City, California. Even with this great location, no one wanted to take a chance with a new photographer even though I had been shooting since I was nine years old. Because of this, I was doing mostly restorations of old family photographs to fill in the gaps. I was the first photographer in the area using digital techniques, and was soon getting all the restoration work. It turned out to be very rewarding, but I really got into photography to shoot.

The lady above was a successful business woman who had an executive portrait made and was not happy with it. She came to me and asked if anything could be done. I said yes and gave her a price. When she came back she was elated. She shouted, ” You have captured me!” Remember, this is the dawn of digital imaging and people were amazed by it. I think I was using Photoshop 2 at that time. The current version, Photoshop CS6 is actually version 13. I will never forget this woman’s joy. It affected me.

She must have spread the word because I started getting a lot of executive portraits to retouch. I began telling clients that it would be cheaper for them if I photographed them and got it right in camera. What little retouching that would be needed would be included in the price of the shoot. They listened, and soon I was shooting for CBS, Hallmark, Odyssey Network, doing publicity photos for actors and models, celebrities, and fashion shoots. That’s how it started for me.

13 thoughts on “Before and After 1994

Leave a Reply

