Bitter Melon

Bitter Melon 5/16/2012

Bitter Melon – Downtown Los Angeles, California, USA

I love to rummage in Asian produce markets and farmer’s markets not to find something to eat, but rather to find something to photograph. That’s where I was on Wednesday morning, at the farmer’s market in Pershing Square just a block from my loft. Nearly at the bottom of a cardboard box full of bitter melons, still unscathed, I found this melon/prehistoric creature. Carrying it to the girl at the register in cupped hands with a wondrous expression on my face, I looked to her for some sort of profound explanation. She said, “That will be $1.63. Would you like a bag for it?” Fair enough!

copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D, Nikon MC-20 remote cableManfrotto 3221 tripodManfrotto 3047 studio head, exposure subject: f/11.0, 0.8 sec., ISO 200, exposure compensation: -1.00, exposure background: f/11.0, 0.4 sec., ISO 200, exposure compensation: -2.00, lighting: north facing window light, Mirror-Up mode. The RAW file captures were made in my studio with a seamless paper background (brown).

14 thoughts on “Bitter Melon

  1. This is fantastic! I does look prehistoric….Isn’t it amazing what Mother Earth presents to us on a daily basis. So many treasures that so many of us never even see, So many treasures seen and then ignored, discarded as being insignificant. Nothing in Nature is insignificant…….

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks lezlie. Despite the cashier at the market being underwhelmed with my paleontological find in the bitter melon bin, I brought this prehistoric creature back to my studio, rested him on brown seamless, bathed him in north facing window light, and captured him for all eternity. In honorous deference to his natural significance, I did not eat him.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

