Bench – Descanso Garden

Descanso Garden 5/11/2012

The occasion was National Public Gardens Day, May 11, 2012 sponsored by Better Homes and Gardens and the American Public Garden Association. I arrived early at Descanso Garden nestled in the foothills of the San Gabriel Mountains near Los Angeles, California. The morning was overcast with a forecast for sunny skies in the afternoon.

Looking for a unique image that would represent Descanso Garden, I set out on the misty trails. They had given me a trail map, but that was already buried deeply in one of the pockets of my cargo pants. I prefer to wander aimlessly anyway (always good luck for me). Before long, I was standing in front of a park bench in deep shade. There was a camellia growing next to it which had littered the bench with its pink blossoms. Descanso Garden is all about camellias and the people who love them. This scene was perfect. I set up my camera and tripod and waited. Five or six visitors with point and shoots stopped to take a picture and exchange good mornings. As they moved on, I knew they were wondering if I was ever going to take a shot. I did…as soon as a ray of sunlight came through the canopy shining like a spotlight on the bench and the ground beneath it.

copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D, exposure: f/22.0, 0.6 sec., exposure index: -0.67, ISO 200, Exposure Program: Aperture Priority,  Auto White Balance, capture date: 5/11/2012, 10:01 am,  Nikon MC-20 remote cable, Manfrotto 3221 tripod with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head.

12 thoughts on “Bench – Descanso Garden

  1. What a lovely place to sit and meditate at. Picturesque, sharp, clear, simple, I wouldn’t want to disturb those petals from gracing that bench.

    I don’t think it is luck that you get such images, you have an innate sense of where to be for your perfect shot, that could have taken hours to get. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another interesting thing I have just noticed about this image, you took it on an angle, as if you were inviting someone to come and sit a while.

    I am thinking most people would have taken their shot standing right in front of the bench, and not included the greenery around this inviting area.

    That alone separates you from the rest of the crowd.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

