Famous Photographer Quote #0070

Tina Modotti

To Diego and Frida:

“I don’t believe in marriage. [crowd laughs] No, I really don’t. Let me be clear about that. I think at worst it’s a hostile political act, a way for small-minded men to keep women in the house and out of the way, wrapped up in the guise of tradition and conservative religious nonsense. At best, it’s a happy delusion – these two people who truly love each other and have no idea how truly miserable they’re about to make each other. But, but, when two people know that, and they decide with eyes wide open to face each other and get married anyway, then I don’t think it’s conservative or delusional. I think it’s radical and courageous and very romantic.”

Tina Modotti

6 thoughts on “Famous Photographer Quote #0070

  1. Thank you for sharing this quote. I am going to include it in a personal essay I am writing about Tina Modotti, my political muse.

    Like

    • Nice to meet you Marie. I’m glad you are writing about Tina Modotti and that the quote will be useful to you. I had a hard time finding this one so most people will be unfamiliar with it. She was so far ahead of her time that her above speech to Diego and Frida is relevant today, as if it were just written.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

