Corner Post on Hill

Corner Post on Hill - Las Virgenes Canyon Open Space 11/13/2011Corner Post on Hill – Las Virgenes Canyon Open Space, Calabasas, California, USA

copyright 2011 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED, Manfrotto 3221 with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head, exposure: f/14.0, 1/125 sec., ISO 200, exposure index -.67, exposure program: aperture priority, focal length: 110 mm

sign - Las Virgenes Canyon 11/13/2011One of my pet projects over the years has been saving the Ahmanson Ranch from the hands of developers. Washington Mutual Bank CEO Kerry Killinger was bent on turning this vast, unspoiled wilderness just outside of Los Angeles into a development of large upscale homes. Fortunately, Washington Mutual gave in after years of overwhelming opposition and sold the land to the State of California. It is now one of my favorite places for hiking and mountain biking.

view larger

Santa Monica Mountains Conservancy

Mountains Recreation and Conservation Authority

Upper Las Virgenes Canyon Open Space Preserve

Ahmanson Ranch

18 thoughts on “Corner Post on Hill

  1. Thank Goodness there is some good people out there to stop the spoiling of land for greed!

    Thanky for this shot I love the visual of the sky, it looks cold, angry ready to just surround you in rain or fog or both.
    I also detect no wind at that time although it looks like it would be windy location?

    Like

    • You are quite welcome Marina, and thank you for commenting on my blog. Your perception of the image is correct. Despite the ominous sky, it was perfectly still.

      The story of the Ahmanson Ranch is proof positive that the insidious greed of large banks and corporations can be stopped by an outraged public.

      Landscape Photography by O. Bisogno Scotti

      Like

  2. I appreciate your interest Marina. My prints are pretty reasonable for what they are (limited edition, museum grade, pigment prints on fine art paper and canvas). I will let you know when it is printed. I will have the pricing information at that time. Thanks again for liking my photography!

    Landscape Photography by O. Bisogno Scotti

    Like

  3. It figures it was a banker who wanted to take away this beautiful area and develop it for profit. I’m very happy for all who enjoy this vast area of beauty, that it remains untouched. The photo is hauntingly beautiful.

    Like

  4. Thank you Dawn. “Hauntingly beautiful” is the best comment I could have received for this image.

    I captured this remnant of fence at the top of a hill at daybreak after a storm the night before.

    Landscape Photography by O. Bisogno Scotti

    Like

    • I’m glad you see it that way sukiyama02. I was hiking alone for hours. There was no one else in the Open Space. I had it all to myself on this morning. I saw this corner post on a hill. For me the post was a throwback to another time when this land was used for cattle ranching. These hills may have been more fertile in bygone times but were overgrazed leaving it more desert like than grasslands. The land had been through hard times…but this was a bright sunny day which did not fit my vision of turmoil in these hardscrabble hills. I vowed to come back at the first winter storm. When I arrived at my spot I planted the tripod exactly where I wanted it and waited for the storm to break. I made the capture while it was still dark enough to use a long enough exposure to create motion blur on the fast moving clouds. This gave the image the turmoil I wanted.

      Like

Leave a Reply

