Word Up

Word Up

Word Up – Bristol Hotel, 423 W. 8th St., Downtown Los Angeles, CA, USA, 5/01/2011

copyright 2011 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

Word UpBristol Hotel was taken at 5:43 am, Sunday, 5/01/2011. I scouted this shot last week trying to determine the right time of day to make the capture on my day off. 5:30 am looked perfect so I set my alarm for 5 am, but shut it off in my sleep. Luckily the Bristol is only a block from my loft. Jumping out of bed, I threw on my clothes, grabbed my gear and was set up to get the shot at 5:43. To view 32 bit HDR image larger, click here.

Built in 1906 and vacant since 2003, the Hotel in now finally open. Below is Luigi Barducci Contessi’s Colori Kitchen, the neighborhood Italian Restaurant where you can BYOB with no corking fee, the new D-Town Burger, and the Golden Gopher bar.

Nikon D3 DSLRAF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8Dexposure: f/5.6, 1/125 sec., ISO 200, tripod: Nikkor MC-20 remote cable, Manfrotto 3221 with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head.

5 thoughts on “Word Up

    • I didn’t know there was a word up hand sign either. I can’t even make it with my fingers, but I like the way the hand was coming up from behind the other building and the way it was painted right over some windows. If you look at the top right window in the building behind the Bristol Hotel there is a pidgeon in flight. I wasn’t aware of it when I tripped the shutter, but I like it there. Pure serendipity. The classic VW in the lower right I thought was a nice element. A very surreal scene.

      Like

Leave a Reply

