Mojave Bus


Mojave Bus
Mojave Bus – Mojave National Preserve, California, USA

copyright 2011 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

In 1994, President Bill Clinton signed into law the California Desert Protection Act, which created the 1.6 million acre Mojave National Preserve. All I knew about the area at the time was that when driving from Los Angeles to Las Vegas on the I-15 at 80 mph, there was a huge tract of land on the right seemingly void of any human intervention, with shimmering heat on the desert floor creating a very surreal scene.

I googled the Mojave National Preserve and found the Mojave Road which bisects the preserve following ancient Native American trails, East to West, across the Mojave Desert, 128 miles of which are in the boundaries of the preserve. My first thought was what a great adventure it would be to cross this expanse with my 4×4 Xterra. Of course the idea was quickly put on the back burner and forgotten about…until last week. I just happened to catch a weather report about a storm ready to roll across the Mojave. Perfect I thought. Dramatic skies for photography. I’m out of here!

I made one mistake. I brought my cell phone and got a call to come back to LA for a commercial shoot. Who knew there would be reception out there? I took the one shot above before the storm rolled in. Luckily, I am happy with it and I did make it to the halfway point in spite of heavy rain, sleet and snow. I shall return!

Click here to see all the detail this 32-bit HDR (High Dynamic Range) image provides.

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D, Nikkor MC-20 remote cableManfrotto 3221 tripodManfrotto 3047 studio head, exposure: F/22, 1/125 sec., ISO 200, exposure index: -0.67.

8 thoughts on “Mojave Bus

  1. Oh My Goodness! I just read the story of the Mojave trail! I really want to travel this trail! 😀
    It looks very interesting and exciting to me. How long does it take to travel the full trail?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a great adventure. It takes a high clearance four wheel drive vehicle and off-road driving experience to travel this trail from beginning to end. For photography, I would recommend 10-14 days. Avoid the summer months.

      Like

  2. I have heard about this bus and I was wondering where the location of it is. I have talked with people in the area and they don’t know about it. I would like any information on this that you can give me. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Virgil. I travel organically so I can’t really pinpoint the old School bus for you, but I can tell you this: I started the journey at the Colorado River heading west on Mojave Road (some parts of the road say Old Government Road). The bus is somewhere between the eastern border of the preserve and Kelso Cima Road which bisects the preserve going north and south at the halfway mark. The bus is in a large, flat valley between mountain ranges. It is very easy going in this section and the bus is right off the road so you can’t miss it. Hope this helps.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

