The Performer

The PerformerCirque du Soleil Performer – Dorothy Chandler Pavillion, Downtown Los Angeles, CA

copyright 2011 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

The City of Los Angeles has declared January of each year “Los Angeles Arts Month” with a free lunchtime performance at the Music Center Plaza by David Hidalgo and Louie Perez of Los Lobos to kick it off  on January 5, 2011. I was kneeling in front of the stage with the rest of the photographers, fulfilling my shot list of the mayor, Antonio Villaraigosa, Los Angeles County Supervisor 1st District Gloria Molina, Councilman District 4 Tom LaBonge,  and other city officials when something told me to get up and walk to stage right. I would like to think that this was some kind of vatic event, but my body may have only been telling me to get up and stretch before my legs fell asleep. As I walked around the stage, a Cirque du Soleil performer came out of the wing dancing straight at me. I smiled at her and raised my camera, clicking the shutter just as she veered to my left to avoid running into me. I could have checked the LCD on my camera to see if I got the shot, but there was no need to. I knew it would be my best shot of the day.

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED,

2 thoughts on “The Performer

  1. Hello Bisogno Scotti!

    I am so happy to have stumbled upon your blog! Your photos are beautiful! This one in particular strikes me because I did the makeup for the Cirque performer for this photo! My name is Ashley Joy Beck. I would love to use your photo on my website if you wouldn’t mind. Of course I will give you credit! Please let me know if you are ok with this~ Thanks for capturing such a great expression! She sure can be filled with them!

    Ashley Joy Beck

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Ashley,

    Nice to meet you! I’m glad you like my photography. How did you find me?

    I just visited your web site, and I really enjoyed your “Avant Glamour”. You are very good at what you do.

    All images on Blog-Bisogno are rights managed, but after seeing your site, I would be more than happy to give you permission to use the image, “The Performer” only your web page and no other web sites or other media in exchange for a credit, PHOTOGRAPHER: O. BISOGNO SCOTTI.

    She is definitely a performer! All the other photographers were posing her and her fellow performers, but I decided to just hang out, with camera ready and capture the decisive moment, which I think I succeeded in doing. What is her name? I would love to give her a plug on my blog, if that is ok with her. Please let her know that she is on my blog.

    Again, it was nice meeting you and am looking forward to seeing my image on your web page. I hope this will help you in your endeavors. Let’s keep in touch!

    Ciao,
    Bisogno

    Like

Leave a Reply

