View From My Window

View From My WindowView From My Window – Los Angeles Athletic Club, 431 W. 7th St., Los Angeles, CA

copyright 2011 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

It was Monday morning, January 3, 2011, back to work day. Saturday and  Sunday I was busy taking family pictures and by Monday, I was yet to get my first copyrighted image in 2011. Too busy to go out, I finally threw open one of the windows in my studio facing 7th Street, stuck my camera out the window and took a handheld shot of The  Los Angeles Athletic Club diagonally across the street. I have been thinking of  doing this for quite some time now, but my fear of heights gave me a near panic attack every time I got near the 5th floor window. I’m cool when the window is closed, but not when it’s open. On this day, the rain had stopped, the sky was still stormy, and a ray of late afternoon sunlight was spotlighting the 1912 beaux-arts building. Perfect! I went into shooting mode, a trance like state requiring no thought processes other than motor that I have perfected over the past 40 years, and before I knew what happened I was feverishly working to fulfill my vision in Photoshop. Enjoy!

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D, exposure: f/8.0, 1/200 sec., ISO 200, exposure index: +0.67, handheld, Photoshop CS5, HDR Pro

16 thoughts on “View From My Window

  1. Thanks for commenting Thom.

    I love downtown Los Angeles too. That is why I am here risking life and limb on a daily basis to get these shots. 🙂

    Seriously though, I remain intrigued with the people and architecture of downtown LA and will continue to search for it’s hidden (or ignored) treasures.

    Like

  2. Thanks. I’m glad you like it. I have been visualizing how I would make The Los Angeles Athletic Club look since I moved across the street from it. I am happy with the result. Now I want to do the interior!

    Like

  3. The view from your window has a strange and oneiric taste,
    a dreamy feeling, an unconventional style, a lighting warmth,
    all these that make your picture a “photographie-noire”…

    What is missing, is the femme fatale… but no doubt,
    she is going to appear soon in one of the windows 🙂

    ps it is definitely a painting, I would like for my wall…
    very nice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oneiric. A great word (I had to look it up). And yes photographie-noire would be the correct genre. I see you know your art. A femme fatale would most likely inspire another painting!

      Here is some info on the print:

      A print of “View From My Window” is now on display at fotografia-LA. It is printed on Hahnemuhle Photo Rag 308 Fine Art Paper. The image area is 17.5″x26.25″ and the paper size is 24″x 33.5″ It is signed by the artist and marked print no. 1 in a series of 100 (certificate of authenticity included). Viewing is by appointment.

      If you saw it, you would not leave without it!

      Like

  4. Did she get her print? I hesitate to call this a photo is it really, what did you do to it to make it look like a painting?

    Like

    • Yes she did.

      This image is listed under the Digital Painting category on Blog-Bisogno. I am kind of a traditionalist, yet other times I am not. Sometimes I see a scene, but I see it differently than it is in reality. I have a vision of what it would look like in my world, the world according to O. Bisogno Scotti (the name of this blog).

      After the RAW file capture, this image was ingested into Adobe Bridge. From there it went to Adobe HDR Pro (high dynamic range) and then to Photoshop CS5 where the painting was done. Why Photoshop?…because I don’t have a painting program. 😉

      Like

      • Wow that process looks like it is expensive, do you get to do this very often? Paint your photos, that is? It has my mind reeling trying to see you paint your photo like it was on a canvas.
        You are a creative and talented man! You certainly should be making your mark in the photographic world, Now I understand why your friend David said you did things that he only dreamed about!
        I wish I could afford one of your pieces of art.

        Like

      • Thank you for your kind words Natures’ Child. I wish I could afford one of my prints too. I print them on demand and never really get one for myself, but I do get to see them on the wall at my studio for awhile.

        Like

Leave a Reply

