Carrizo Plain Sunrise

Carrizo Plain SunriseCarrizo Plain Sunrise – Carrizo Plain National Monument, California, USA

Copyright 2010 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

Normally I get up when the sun is warm, but I knew that the sunrise at Carrizo Plain would be righteous. Up at the crack of dawn with camera and tripod ready, I was rewarded with this image.

Nikon D1X DSLR, AF Nikkor 24mm f/2.8D, exposure: f/8 1/80 sec., ISO 125, mode: Aperture Priority, Manfrotto 3221 tripod, Manfrotto 3047 studio head.

4 thoughts on “Carrizo Plain Sunrise

  1. Thank you for your comment. I agree. Even the most beautiful sunrise or sunset needs a foreground element, something to shine down upon.

    My sunrise scenes start the day before. I find a foreground element and determine where the sun will rise and the tripod location. I then camp as close as possible to the imagined scene, set my alarm, wake up and take the shot.

    Like

  2. The only regret I have about this image is that I shot it with my Nikon D1X instead of my Mamiya RZ 67 Pro II which was right in my backpack. If I had used the Mamiya, I could have made 40×60″ prints. With a file from the D1X, I can only go to about 13×19.

    Like

Leave a Reply

