Cholla Skeleton

Cholla Skeleton Cholla Skeleton – Avra Valley, Arizona, USA

Copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon D3 DSLR (employing Live View mode for accurate focus), AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8DNikon MC-20 remote cable electronic shutter release, exposure: f/18.0, 1/60 sec., ISO 200, exposure index: 0, exposure mode: Manual, tripod: Manfrotto 3221, with Manfrotto 3047 studio head.

lighting: 2 Elinchrom EL-500 studio flash units, one with a ten degree grid on camera right, and one with a 20 degree grid on camera left.  Both flash units were positioned at a 80 degree angle to the subject to bring out the texture of the wood. A flag was used for each flash to avoid light spilling onto the backgound (black seamless paper).

There are many possibilities as to what this image might portend so let your imagination run wild.  Here’s my story (without revealing its significance for me):  I was hiking up a wash in the Arizona desert with my immediate family. The purpose of the hike was to scatter my father’s ashes at the base of the same saguaro cactus where we scattered my mother’s ashes years ago. The location is near one of their favorite picnic spots. On the way back I noticed this piece of sun bleached cholla skeleton lying in the sand at the edge of the wash. Immediately taken with it, I decided to bring it home with me and it finally ended up on the product table in my Downtown Los Angeles studio. Being an ardent environmentalist, I will return it to its original resting ground the next time I visit that spot.

10 thoughts on “Cholla Skeleton

  1. This image resembles a skeleton of a fish swimming in black oil. That’s what crosses my mind when I look at this image.

    Also, thanks for the history on the Morrison Hotel cover. I had the honor of meeting Mr. Diltz twice. He is completely down to earth and cool. He used that light pole to frame the shot, and that loading sign (now a parking meter it appears) was so nicely placed.

    Keep up the great work Scott!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That could prove to be a very poignant observation. In the not so distant future, many fish skeletons swimming in black oil may be found in the Gulf of Mexico due to the BP debacle.

      I didn’t know that you had met Henry Diltz. Would love to talk to you at length about that sometime! I also didn’t know he used the light pole to frame his famous shot. Now that the building is vacant, the loading zone and sign are gone. The city, in it’s continuing effort to nickel and dime its residents to death, has replaced it with a parking meter.

      I still remember you singing and playing drums on Light My Fire at Fairfax High. You nailed it my brotha’!

      Thanks, Dave.

      Like

    • Thanks for the kind words, Lauren.

      Now that you mention it, all the images on Blog-Bisogno are for sale. Most of them have already sold and some have sold many times over the years. Aside from my photography business, fotografia-LA, I also have a printing business which produces fine art prints for artists and photographers in the Los Angeles area. I specialize in archival pigment prints on various fine art papers. For my own prints, I use Hahnemuhle 308 rag and Ultrasmooth Fine Art Paper 500 gm2 by Epson, both of which have earned high longevity ratings from Wilhelm Imaging Research. when used in conjunction with pigment inks. This is an important point with collectors of artwork.

      I have a fine art print web site in the works. Until then, I intend to keep Blog-Bisogno true to its original intent which is to share ideas and knowledge.

      Thanks again for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

