Disney Center on a Rainy Spring Day

Disney Center-1 4/21/2010Disney Center, Downtown Los Angeles, CA, USA

Copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.


It has taken me two years to get myself to take a picture of the Disney Center, 111 South Grand Avenue. It’s not that it’s far away or anything. In fact, it is walking distance from my loft. The problem in my mind was that everyone else has already taken a picture of the Disney Center, including some well know photographers, some not so well known photographers, hobbyists, and thousands of tourists from all over the globe with point and shoots.

Last Wednesday, I was riding my bike in the rain, climbing Bunker Hill past the Disney Center when the lines of this section of the structure told me to stop. I liked the composition and the details, the light on the wall, the railing, the stormy sky, it was all there. Feeling borderline hypothermic at this point (I live for photography), I set up my camera and tripod with shaking hands and composed the shot.

The final image above is a split-tone b&w, warm tone on the building (foreground) and cold tone on the sky (background) for added dimensionality and depth.

Nikon D3 DSLR, AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, exposure: f/16, 100/sec., ISO 200, tripod: Manfrotto 3221 with Manfrotto 3265 pistol grip ball head, bike: white GT Avalanche 2.0.



9 thoughts on “Disney Center on a Rainy Spring Day

    • The great thing about being an amateur is that the only one you have to please is yourself. Keep shooting and read everything you can get your hands on. If you find you truly love it, and your photography begins to define who you are, you will also find a way to attain the technical prowess and tools to accomplish these techniques.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hmmmm I guess that means I will have to shoot more often and make better choices of what and how I shoot things. There are digital mags are they geared for the amateur? I was thinking yesterday of what you said about one of your shots, that you waited for 2 hrs to get the right light before you had your shot. That separates the pros from the weekend shooters like me.
    You obviously had the vision of what you wanted long before the time was right.
    That is something to aspire to!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. Shoot often and edit ruthlessly. You are only as good as the worst image you put out there.

      I usually handhold the camera walking around to find the right angle and composition. When I have that squared away, I plant my camera and tripod there and watch as the light unfolds before me, releasing the shutter when it is perfect for what I want.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

