Hollywood Anti-War Protest – March 20, 2004

George W. Bush Effigy

Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 – Hollywood, CA

copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.


On March 18, 2004, I woke up with the intentions of running errands, food shopping, and all the other mundane things I would normally do on a Saturday morning. But it was just too nice of a SoCal day and on the way to my car, I saw a guy on the sidewalk holding a sign that said, “F#@k Bush!” Smiling at him, I gave a thumbs up and he waved his arm and yelled, “C’mon!” I had my point and shoot in my pocket so I followed him down to Hollywood & Vine, which was two blocks from where I lived at the time. These are the pictures I took that day.

Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 01
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 02
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 03
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 04
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 05
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 06
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 07
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 08
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 09
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 10
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 11
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 12
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 13
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 14
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 15
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 16
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 17
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 18
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 19
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 20
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 21
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 22
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 23
Hollywood Anti-War Protest 2004 24

All images: Nikon CoolPix 5000 point and shoot, handheld


11 thoughts on “Hollywood Anti-War Protest – March 20, 2004

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I doubt if anyone actually likes war. Some feel it is needed, even inevitable. Personally, I feel it is an outdated modus operandi.

    All politics aside, once I got there I was there as a photographer, just recording what was there, hopefully in an artistic manner.

    Like

  2. Image #11…I know this woman. Her name is Taquilla Mockingbird. She’s a punk artist, musician, founder and curator of the LA Punk Museum. She’s iconic…It’s a great image of her too…all of these in this series are…I LOVE a good demonstration!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a great album and a great artistic statement!!! Anti~war demonstrators are a colorful and unique lot. I love their spirit and energy. You have, once again, captured the essence of the day and caused me to remember my own days on the front line…thanks, Bisogno, once again for what you do….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lezlie. The protesters obviously put a lot of time and energy into their outfits, signs and banners. They were committed to the cause, yet having fun with it at the same time. For me, that’s what made it so beautiful. The LAPD on the other hand were armed to the teeth with military weaponry and ready for action. I think I was able to capture the tension in the air they needlessly created at this peaceful event.

      My most memorable photographic moment was when the huge effigy of George W. Bush was coming down Hollywood Blvd. I found my frame with the Kodak Center in the background and that was okay…but then a police helicopter entered the frame and began to hover menacingly in the perfect spot. I thought, “Yeah man, this is it!” and tripped the shutter.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree. The costumes and signs make for a festive and humorous slant on a very serious subject. The contrast between the appearance and attitude of the demonstrators and those of the LAPD, you captured that beautifully. It’s interesting to see that the LAPD, with it’s vast experience in dealing with demonstrations over the decades, hasn’t changed it’s tactics at all. Some of us never learn.

    I was wondering about that giant face. It’s magnificent! And, yes, the helicopter in the background makes this image sing….you’re patience in waiting for the perfect capture is inspiring because it always pays off. Bravo, Bisogno!

    Like

Leave a Reply

