Aspens in a Rift Valley – Los Padres National Forest

Aspens in a Rift Valley

Aspens in a Rift – Los Padres National Forest, California,USA

Copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.


It would be impossible for me to pinpoint exactly where this image was taken. All I can tell you is this rift in a valley floor resides somewhere in the Los Padres National Forest between Ventura and Carizzo Plains, CA.

The weather forecast for the previous night was for heavy thunder storm activity in the mountains and that some flooding and road closures were expected. I can’t remember who, but some famous artist once said, “Common sense is the enemy of art”.  Armed with that knowledge, I stowed my camera bag and camping gear in the back of my trusty Xterra 4×4 and left for the mountains early the next morning.

At Ventura, I turned off the main drag to take a small winding mountain road into the mountains. I made it quite a ways before finally running into a ranger who told me I was going to have to turn around and go back out the way I came in. I pulled over to the side to check my map and thats when I noticed the aspens in a rift.

Nikon D1X DSLR, AF Nikkor 24mm f/2.8D, exposure: f/11, 1/20 sec.  +1.33 exposure compensation, ISO 125, Manfrotto 3221 tripod, Manfrotto 3047 studio head.

13 thoughts on “Aspens in a Rift Valley – Los Padres National Forest

    • Thanks very much. I am already thinking about another photo trip to coincide with the spring bloom on the desert. Just conceiving it in my mind. My experience has been that if you “plan” anything, it will never happen.

      Like

  1. Early Spring in California! What a scenery!

    At times like these, you have to admit that Nature and Life are exactly the same thing.
    In this picture, the colours are extremely live and sharp. Even the shades add to the beauty of the photograph.

    Three-dimensional feeling.
    A remarkable geology formation and a wonderful sample of vegetation.

    I suppose that you and Nikon work together perfectly.

    ps Did you return there?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is so true. I know it is my life.

    I wanted deep shadows in the back ground for a chiaroscuro effect. I didn’t have to wait long before Nature gave it to me on a silver platter. Sometimes you have to wait days before you get light like that. I was so happy even though the road was washed out and couldn’t get to my intended destination. What you can’t see in the image is the lovely little stream running along the bottom of the rift that is nourishing the aspens.

    Rift valleys are an insanely beautiful geological formation, right up there with the slot canyons of the Southwest.

    I never returned, only because there are so many places I am yet to see.

    On a good day, my Nikon and I get along just fine!

    Like

  3. I can’t believe I have just discovered this image 😦 I am happy that I have seen this amazing image. Nature has a way of telling you when to stop and shoot! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

