Fairfax Night

“Anything that excites me for any reason, I will photograph; not searching for unusual subject matter, but making the commonplace unusual.”

Edward Weston

Fairfax Night

Fairfax Night – Fairfax District, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.


This image was captured while walking the dog at 4:00 am after a gig.  I set up the tripod on the sidewalk on Rosewood next to the playground at Fairfax High School with the camera pointing down Orange Grove Ave.  You could always count on Kodachrome  exposed for 5 minutes or more to deliver a surreal effect, due to extreme reciprocity failure.

Minolta SR-T 101, 50mm MD Rokkor 50mm f/1.7 lens, Kodak Kodachrome 64 35mm transparency film, Velbon Tripod, Kodak Sprintscan 4000 scanner.

Kodachrome
You give us those nice bright colors
You give us the greens of summers
Makes you think all the world’s a sunny day, oh yeah!
I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away
Paul Simon
8 thoughts on “Fairfax Night

  1. Thanks, man! I think I took that in the late 70s. That’s the feeling I had for the Fairfax District and Los Angeles (in those days). I most likely could never replicate, or even summon up those feelings today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like this photo, but you lost me with your technical jargon at the end. No surprise there though.
    How did you get the edge of the photo to look like that?

    Like

    • Thank you Marina.

      Reciprocity failure of color transparency film begins with long shutter speeds at around 2-5 minutes. The film becomes less sensitive to light causing a color shift. This is considered a problem unless you are looking for surreal colors as was my intention in this image. You don’t have to worry about it with a digital camera.

      The border was created with a Photoshop plugin. As always, I did not use the default setting for the border. I put my own stamp on it to differentiate my border from everyone else using the same plugin. To me a canned border is only the starting point.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

