Gray Trees with Color

Gray Trees with Color won a first place award from Mamiya America Corporation, Lowe Pro USA, and Outdoor Photographer Magazine.

Gray Trees With ColorGray Trees with Color – North Carolina, USA

Copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

Nikon N90S SLR, Nikkor AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f-2.8D ED, Nikon MC-20 remote cable, Fujichrome Velvia 50 scanned on Heidelberg Saphir drum scanner, M-up Mode, exposure not recorded, Manfrotto  3221  tripod, Manfrotto 3265 ball head.

Gray Trees with Color was captured in a very different way for me.  It is not my modus operandi to conceptualize an image in my mind at home in Los Angeles before embarking on a trip, but that is exactly what I found myself doing.  It was October and I was heading to Western N. Carolina for the autumn color. In my mind, I kept seeing a row of  trees, devoid of all color, only shades of gray with a hillside draped in a spectacle of autumn color as a backdrop.  It was an eleven day trip, two travel days and nine photography days. Surely enough time to find it, but on day ten I woke up with the feeling that my vision was going to elude me.  My cousin Ed and his wife Barb had invited me to dinner that evening at their home in Asheville so I figured I might as well leave on the early side.  I took a round about way to catch the Blue Ridge Parkway only to find out it was closed due to a mud slide.  There was a dirt road heading off through the woods.  Who knows, I thought, maybe it goes all the way to Asheville.  It did not, but it did turn out to be the road to Gray Trees with Color.



17 thoughts on “Gray Trees with Color

  1. This is a most interesting image.

    With all the colour going on behind this row of trees it is surprising that there is not one leaf on any one tree almost like they had been stripped bare or they were dead trees.
    Did you notice the blue colour in the bark? Unusual for sure.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t think the trees were dead. I’m not sure what kind of trees they were, but they were definitely deciduous. I’m thinking they lost their leaves earlier than the trees on the hillside behind. I was very happy to find this scene on my last day in North Carolina.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The trees look to me like Birch. A beautiful tree. When I first looked at this, I didn’t realize that the colors came from different trees in the far background. You’ve created an optical illusion in my mind. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lezlie Sokol Painted Cloud Gallery: Thank you. The trees may very well be gray birch. The limbs look like birch limbs.
      The equipment list on this post credits the wrong lens. It was actually a AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED, and the focal length used was 200mm. Normally, one would use a 50mm for this landscape. Since I am not normal, I did not want a normal image. It is the 200mm focal length that has created an optical illusion by stacking up (flattening) the image, making the colorful background trees to appear as if they are directly behind the gray trees. In actuality, they are much further away.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

