Seoulset

Seoulset won the grand prize from the Photographic Council of the United Nations and was included in their worldwide traveling exhibition. It was also featured at the PMA Show in Las Vegas and published many times in magazines and The Big Book of Photography.

SeoulsetOlympic Park, Chamsil, Seoul, Republic of Korea

copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

The image was taken in Olympic Park, Seoul, S. Korea. It is a sculpture with the sunset over Chamsil, the old town section of Seoul, reflecting on the stainless steel surface. The last remaining arch to the old city can be seen at the lower right and a statue of a monk to the left of that.

Nikon N90 SLR, AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D, 35mm Kodak Kodachrome 25 transparency film scanned on Heidelburg Saphir drum scanner, Manfrotto 3221 tripod, Manfrotto 3265 ball head.

Note: Kodachrome 25 was discontinued by Kodak many years ago. It was an amazing film, but exceedingly slow. Although Kodak rated it at ASA 25, according to my own tests, it was only ASA 18.




14 thoughts on “Seoulset

  1. When the gate of perception coaligns with the daring monk and the old town,
    then the passion of the unique moment in time will reach its peak
    and the photographer will steal the soul of the city
    and offer it as a gift to eternity…

    ps a remarkable “seoulset” picture, full of small secrets of art,
    which exite the imagination, spreading strong traces of admiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! This image is about alignment of the various elements within, art, nature, religion, man, shrouded in mysticism. It is a place in time, an offering. It is up to all those who view “Soulset” to find the secrets held within.

      Like

  2. now, that’s quite a reply you have given here.

    You’ve just moved me to an other dimension, where
    secrets are held open like the May roseleaves
    and time finds its best disguise…

    yes, tonight I saw a different picture…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much Dawn! Here’s the story on how Soulset was taken:

    It was my second day in S. Korea, a beautiful sunny day, so I went to explore Olympic Park. After awhile, I came upon a 50 ft. stainless steel art installation. In the midday sun (the worst possible time for photography) it looked nothing like my image. I stood there liking the design of the installation and its reflective surface and figured out where I would place my tripod if I were ever to make a capture. Then I moved on. The park is so large, by the time I got to the other end, it was about 30 minutes before sunset. I looked out over Chamsil, the old town of Seoul, and thought it would make a nice image with the sunset above the old buildings. Then it hit me. The stainless steel art installation that I saw earlier in the day was also facing the sunset and Chamsil. Would it reflect on the polished surface? Could I make it back there in time? I bolted like a racehorse out of the gate, running with my backpack and tripod in tow. Arriving just in time, I set up my camera on the tripod in the prearranged spot making a few adjustments in position to be sure everything I wanted to reflect on the surface was in the frame and clicked the shutter. It was one of those moments when you know you have something very special. Since it was film, I did not see the transparency on a light table until I got back to the States a few months later.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Seoulset is one of the first images of yours I ever saw. It’s the first one that just boggled my mind., the first to have a strong dramatic effect on me. Others rendered me, and still do, speechless, breathless or have brought a tear to my eye…..a softer, more intimate emotional effect.
    Kodachrome 25…”you’re a better man than I am, Gunga Din!”
    So, what’s that non-shiny dome in the rear and to the left? Is that an elongated pool or pond in front of it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad “Seoulset” affected you emotionally. It affected me that way which tells me my intention has shone through in this image.
      Kodachrome 25 is a bear, but well worth the effort. Even Kodachrome 64 would not have looked as dramatic. I usually underexposed transparency film by ⅓ stop to pump up the saturation…kind of like moving the saturation slider to the plus side in Photoshop or Lightroom.
      On the left is another stainless steel sphere that has been cut vertically down the middle to the horizontal circumference exposing the top interior which is not stainless (maybe brass). I believe the other side of this sphere facing east was the opposite (bottom of sphere cut out with the top remaining). There also a sphere like this on the right of the frame, but only the very top is visible. Hope you can visualize it from what I have written. It was much easier to imagine…than to recount it now.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

