Lone Tree

Lone TreeLone Tree – Point Sal, California, USA

copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.

I spent three days car camped at the end of a winding dirt road, on the cliffs of Point Sal. When I first drove by this tree, I was taken aback by its invincible spirit, one lone tree on a hillside, blown halfway to the ground by prevailing winds, one branch snapped, now angled down towards the earth, but refusing to give ground.

I sometimes envision this image as a b&w, pared down to its basic elements, but have never been able to come to a decision on it.  Comments are welcome.

Nikon N90S SLR, AF Nikkor 24mm f/2.8D, Kodak Ektachrome E100S film, Manfrotto 3221 tripod, Manfrotto 3265 ball head.



14 thoughts on “Lone Tree

  1. Thank you! I’ll look forward to seeing the differences between the two, although I am sure I know already which one I will like the best!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I never made the conversion to b&w on Lone Tree. It’s on my to do list…perpetually it seems. It was a great suggestion by Nature’s Child, and there’s no doubt in my mind that a b&w version will be even stronger.

      Did you know: Kodak Kodachrome transparency film was b&w. When sent to Kodak for processing, dye-couplers were added to create the color.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

