Los Angeles State Historic Park – Cirque Berserk

This is an image I shot last week using a technique available with the Nikon D3. On the same frame, 10 shots are taken automatically within a period of about one second (a tripod is a must). This produces 10 times the amount of color information in a single image, creating color depth comparable to medium format.

Cirque Berserk TentCirque Berserk tent, Los Angeles State Historic Park, Chinatown, Los Angeles, CA, USA

copyright 2012 O. Bisogno Scotti  All Rights Reserved.


Nikon D3 DSLR, AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, Manfrotto 3221 tripod, Manfrotto 3047 head, bike: white GT Avalanche 2.0

The Cornfield Then and Now
Bio Art – Los Angeles State Historic Park
info – Los Angeles State Historic Park

11 thoughts on “Los Angeles State Historic Park – Cirque Berserk

      • In my dreams!!! I’ll have to win a lottery for that to happen.
        my first SLR was a Pentax and I did own a Nikon I even had 2 lens a wide and telephoto.

        Like

      • Don’t worry about it. You don’t need one and neither do I. However, there is a D800e in my future. It’s not coming out until late April so I have some time to save my pennies.

        Like

      • Well your right about not really needing one, I’ll stick with my little one she and I will work out fine once I work with her and learn all she can teach me. Gotta figure out the tripod, something I never used before.

        Like

  1. I’ve changed my mind I want to do that with my flowers in macro!! Now I’ve done it, I’ve crossed the line. I’ve got to get a Nikon and a macro lens! {lottery ticket in my future!} 😆
    Is the D3 the only Nikon that has this capability?

    Like

    • The Nikon D3 has been discontinued and replaced by the D4. The D4 has the same capabilities as the D3 with some minor improvements mainly in the area of speed which you don’t need. The price is $6,000 US.

      I would suggest the newly released Nikon D800 which costs half of what a D4 costs. It has triple the resolution, and an even better way to attain rich color and more dynamic range. From Nikon’s web site:

      Expand dynamic range with built-in HDR: Create a single image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and rich color gradation than ever before. Combine two exposures at up to 3EV.

      Since you do mostly landscape/macro photography I would get a D800e (release date in May). It is exactly like the D800 except it has no high pass filter over the sensor which will give you finer detail. Best of luck on winning the lottery!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

